MARYLAND FIRE CHIEFS ASSOCIATION

ANNUAL MEETING - APRIL 7, 2018 - ENGLISH CONSUL VFC

The annual meeting of the Maryland Fire Chiefs Association (MFCA) was held on April 7, 2018 at the English Consul VFC in Baltimore County. Past Presidents in attendance were Ron Watkins, John Hoglund, Paul Sterling, and Richard Blair. PP Blair is also serving as the 2nd VP for the MSFA. Officers present were President Hugh Owens, 1st P Paul Sullivan, 2nd VP William Smith, Treasurer Rick Hemphill, Membership Secretary Katie Owens, Chaplain Reverend Richard Bower, and Assistant Chaplain Robin Howard. Special guest Mark Bilger, MD State Firemen's Association (MSFA) President was also in attendance.

The English Consul Auxiliary and firefighters provided a very nice lunch at Noon, and photos of all members in attendance were done during the lunch hour. The opening prayer was given by Assistant Chaplain Robin Howard. Robin also led the Pledge of Allegiance. At 1305 hours, President Owens called the meeting to order. The Association was greeted by ECFD Chief Robert Bury, Jr. MSFA President Mark Bilger made some brief comments and presented a plaque to President Owens for the good work over the past two years. Past President Paul Sterling, current President of the Eastern Division, International Fire Chiefs Association, spoke about the upcoming EDIAFC Conference being held in Maryland at the Embassy Suites BWI hotel, noting that we would like to have a good attendance from Maryland.

President Owens commenced with the awards portion of the meeting. President Bilger was presented with a plaque for the MSFA to commemorate the unity that has been exhibited this year between the two organizations. Appreciation plaques for their hard work over the past year were presented to the MFCA officers and Regional representatives, and also to the Training Committee members and to LAMFCA President and Fire Prevention committee Chair Teresa Chrisman.

The William Perry Award, given in honor of Past President William Perry for outstanding work for the Association in the past year, was awarded to 1st VP Paul Sullivan. The Chief Leslie B. Thompson, PP, Memorial Trophy, the highest award given by the MFCA, is sponsored by the Damascus VFD and Chestertown VFC. Chief Thompson served in both of these departments. Chief Darron Long of the Damascus VFD presented Chief Johnie Roth, last year's winner, with his "keeper" trophy. The winner of this year's Thompson Award was Chief Paul Sterling, PP. Also nominated for the award were Chief Calvin Stack and Chief Dave Lewis. 1st VP Sullivan and 2nd VP Smith presented outgoing President Owens with plaques for appreciation for his service.

The elections for 2018 – 2019 were held next. Chief Roth spoke briefly to the group about trying to elect the best possible candidate to the positions, as there are many areas coming up that will require strong efforts on our members part, and the officers will have much to do. PP. Paul Sterling was designated handle the nomination and election process.

For President, Paul Sullivan was nominated. With no further nominations, Paul Sullivan was ELECTED.

For 1st VP, William Smith and Jeff Dickie were nominated. Election results – Smith, 37 votes, Dickie ,8 votes. William Smith was ELECTED.

For 2nd VP, Gerald "JJ" Lynott was nominated. No further nominations received, JJ Lynott was ELECTED.

For Secretary, Pete Mellits and Dave Crawford were nominated. Election results – Mellits, Crawford, . Dick Crawford was ELECTED

For Treasurer, Rick Hemphill was nominated. No further nominations received, Rick Hemphill was ELECTED

For Assistant Treasurer, PP Hugh Owens was nominated. No further nominations were received, Hugh Owens was ELECTED

For Membership Secretary, Katie Owens and Nick Thompson were nominated. Election results – Owens, Thompson, . Nick Thompson was ELECTED.

For Chaplain, Rev. Richard Bower was nominated. No further nominations received, Rev. Richard Bower was ELECTED.

There was a MOTION and Second to destroy the ballots. MOTION Passed.

The new officers were sworn into their officers by MSFA President Mark Bilger, with Past President Hugh Owens also sworn in as immediate past president on the Executive Board. Following this, Past President Owens received is Past President's badge from newly elected President Sullivan.

Under "Good of the order" Past President Hugh Owens spoke on the plan for a new award – the Leonard T. King Memorial Valor Award – and noted that a committee would be formed to make the rules for this award.

Motion received and seconded to adjourn. Meeting adjourned at 1420 hours.

Respectfully submitted,

Ronald Watkins, Asst. Secretary

Attendance sheet – MFCA ANNUAL MEETING – 4/7/2018

Ronald E. Watkins, P.P. Asst. Secretary

Rick Blair, P.P. MSFA 1st VP

Mark Bilger MSFA President

Charles Barr Western Enterprise FD

Gary Schotterback Western Enterprise FD

Jason Miller Washington County

Skip Menzies WCVFRA 2nd VP

Rick Hemphill Treasurer

Clark Beall Damascus VFD

Sharon Funk

Jason Funk

Christine Jackson LA MFCA

Tom Cooper Cape St. Claire VFC

F. R. Seibbel III Cape St. Claire VFC

Juanita Colwell LA MFCA

Calvin Colwell Chillum-Adelphi VFD

Tim Delehanty SMVFRA, Prince Frederick VFD

Katie Owens Membership Secretary

Jeff Wickline Chief, Upperco VFC

Nick Thompson Chief, Hampstead VFC

Gerald "JJ" Lynott Hampstead VFC

Robert Bury Jr. Chief, English Consul VFC

Samuel Suter Asst. Chief, English Consul VFC

Laura Woods Glenn Dale VFD

Harve "Ed" Woods Glenn Dale VFC, Legislative Comm.

Frank Brewer Gaithersburg-Washington Grove VFD

Mike McTighe

Johnie Roth Sandy Spring/ BCC Rescue

Doug Howard MFCA Regional rep

Robin Howard MFCA Asst. Chaplain

Calvin Stack MFCA Regional Rep / Rescue Fire Co.

Roger N. Powell Pikesville VFC

Rev. Richard Bower MFCA Chaplain

Lawrence Gaddis Chief, Bethesda FD

Jamie McNeal Chief, Easton FD

Bob Phillips MFCA Regional Rep, Rescue Fire Co.

A.J. Waytekuns MFCA

Robert Thomas Jr Chief Deputy SFM, Retired

Hugh Owens MFCA President

Gregory Cage NFPA

Bill Smith 2nd VP

Paul E. Sullivan Jr. 1st VP

Teresa Ann Chrisman LAMFCA, Chair, FP Committee

Wayne Colburn Elkridge VFC

Bob McHenry MFCA Regional Rep, Reg.3

Carol Ann McHenry Germantown VFD

Dave Crawford Earleigh Heights VFD

Paul Sterling, P.P. Pres., ED-IAFC

Steve Barry Pleasant Valley VFD

Jack Amrhein White Marsh VFC

Phil Hurlock MIEMSS / Church Hill VFC

Thomas Ludwig (?) Wise Avenue VFC

John Hoglund, P.P. Chaplain Emeritus, MFCA

54 in Attendance